Skip to content

Posts from the ‘My Story’ Category

My Story: Mrs. Sapandeep Kaur, Teacher and Accountant

Mrs. Kaur’s story is one of 13 in the December 2016 DIR Progress Report.

My name is Sapandeep Kaur. I have done M.Com and have done CA Inter from Institute of Chartered Accountant of India (ICAI). I am from Punjab but born in Lucknow and brought up in Delhi. Because my father was in Indian Army and we used to live in Army area.

I got married 3 years ago and now I am living with my husband Baljinder Singh and his joint family in Sector-41 Chandigarh. My husband is Physical Education Teacher in Gems Public School.

I have been working for last 8 years. I have started my career as an accountant in Shree Krishna Agro Group in Sector-17 Chandigarh. Presently I am working in DIR as an accountant-cum-teacher and have been working here since last 7 months. In morning, I am working as a teacher in SWAD and after school time, afternoon onwards I work as an accountant.

I have never taught young kids before, which is now a very new experience for me. I have learned so many things after joining DIR and the various activities to play with small kids. I am enjoying the dual job of mine over here and feel proud to do this.

I feel privileged being a part of this organization which help our society by educating them regarding health, education and self-employment.

I also want to thanks our Dr. Shaw for recruiting me and giving me this excellent opportunity for being a part of such a wonderful organization. DIR is like a family and I really like this environment over here.


My Story: Ms. Sunita, Health Promoter

Snit with her daughter

Snit with her daughter

Here is one of 11 articles from the DIR Report for August.

Hello Everyone!

My name is Sunita. I am working in DIR as a Health Promoter since June 2011. I belong to Bihar but I was born in Chandigarh. I am 29 years old. I am living with my family. My father is a government employee. He is working in The Chandigarh Club. My mother is a homemaker. I have one daughter, Arayna. She is 6.5 years old. She is studying in second standard in Govt. Model Middle school, in Chandigarh’s Sector 23.

My life is a big sad story. I started working with DIR in 2006 and I worked until 2008. Then I got married and left my job to join my husband in Bihar State.. My married life was very bad. My husband and his family forced me for dowry. I spend spent worst three years of my life with him and then I finally left him in 2011 and come back to Naya Gaon. Now, I am living with my parents.

Being a single mother is not an easy job. I have to earn and the only option I had, was DIR. I met Dr. Shaw and discussed my situation with him. I am very thankful to him for giving for giving me one more chance. There was no vacancy at that time but somehow Dr. Shaw adjusted me and I rejoined DIR in June 2011 once again. I don’t have words for saying thanks to him. My daughter was 1.5 years old only at that time. It was hard time for me but I don’t had any option except accepting my destiny. My only wish is to educate my daughter in a best way so that she can live a successful life. I am satisfied with my job. DIR gives me a name. Now everyone knows me in Janta Colony. People trust me. They share their joys and sorrows with me. I am glad that I am a part of DIR.

Today I have knowledge of Prevention and Nutrition. I am not a doctor but I am Health Promoter and promoting health awareness is more than being a doctor in our community. I agree that money is necessary for survival but in DIR, I have learnt that money is not everything. The satisfaction that comes naturally through serving people is the best thing.

My Story: Ms. Vandana, Health Promoter

Vandana, DIR Health Promoter

Vandana, DIR Health Promoter

Hi everyone, I am Vandana. I am working in DIR for the last 10 months as a Health Promoter. I joined DIR on 4 August 2015. I am basically from Uttar Pradesh, but I live in Janta Colony. I am 18 years old. I live with my family. My family is very loving and joyful. I have two brothers and one sister. My father’s name is Mr. Shiv Parsad Gupta. He is an electrician. He is the best father in the world. My mother’s name is Mrs. Geeta and she is a homemaker. I love my family. I have done my +2 in my village. After that I came to Chandigarh. I have done the basics of computers and have knowledge of that. My favorite colors are blue & baby pink. My hobbies are drawing and heena.

When I came in DIR for interview at that time I was very excited because it was my first job which I was going to experience. I felt very happy after my interview. I want to thank Mrs. Harsharan Kaur & Dr. Shaw because they selected me. And gave me this opportunity to work with them. I love the DIR staff because they all are very helpful.

I have learned so many new things in DIR, like medical and nutrition knowledge and how to counsel people. I like it when we have a talk with the people in the field and they all share their problems and good experiences with us. I feel very happy. I want to live my life beautifully and I just want to make it way better than this.

Once again I wanted to say thanks to Dr. Shaw and all the loving staff of DIR.